I asked you to do a "personal trait" homework assignment this weekend over "attitudes' and to watch what we say to others and how we often speak negatively about ourselves.  Doing so can make us feel bad or have a bad day.   I did the assignment with you and found that I often have little habits of saying things I don't even think about before I say it.  Like "My hair just looks awful today!"  When I do that It makes me think my hair looks bad all day.  When I should just say: "Oh well, it looks as good as I have time to make it look and it is not so bad" or at least something on a more positive note. Now, itI would like to hear about what you learned on your assignment?
Ashley Keeton
8/22/2011 07:48:19 am

I have said I look pretty today
and my hair looks nice.

Reply
Koral Bryant :)
8/22/2011 10:28:09 am

During this assignment I really tried t to not be negative and one thing that I noticed that i need to work on is not being negative to my little sister and how i need to be more considerate to her. I love doing things like this because it shows me how I can improve my thoughts to help me and other people have a better day! Thank u Mrs. Barnett!!

Reply
Nick Calvert
8/22/2011 01:57:52 pm

I've learned basically what you brought up, if I throw a shirt on and I think it looks funny and I don't have time to change it. It really makes me self conscience all day. Or saying little hurtful things jokingly can really break a persons self esteem. There is a little bit of truth to every " I'm just kidding "

Reply
Cole Dotson
8/23/2011 02:15:24 am

well i didnt really have any personal expereces this week so i have to be extra positive this week

Reply
cody
8/23/2011 02:15:28 am

Being postive will make a big impact on your life. When your postive its not only affecting you but the people around you also. Being postive will strenghten your faith also. When things dont look to bright in the future having faith in God and being positive can go a long way!

Reply
john dick
8/23/2011 02:15:30 am

:) i have been positive since you gave us the homework assgnment :).

Reply
konnor
8/23/2011 02:15:50 am

thats very educaional

Reply
Sam C.
8/23/2011 02:16:10 am

I have noticed that having a positive attitude is the way to go, it makes ur personal life better in every single way.

Reply
caitlyn britton
8/23/2011 02:16:44 am

i have been positive all week!! my family has seen a difference in my attitudes

Reply
Ariah White
8/23/2011 02:17:21 am

thats very educational

Reply
Jessi Helson
8/27/2011 11:54:40 pm

I haven't been onand checked here in a while to see if you have blogged so I had no idea about this one, but I try to be positive about myself and other people. Since that lesson and before I've tried more to look at everyone and tell them they look good, I understand they want to be modest sometimes and say "No I don't I look terrible!" but I feel I made just a little bit of an impact on them that day. On the other hand I have caught myself saying I look bad but I try to not say that a whole lot anymore.
*Please to post this*

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Picture
    Picture

    Archives

    March 2012
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    May 2011
    October 2010
    September 2010
    August 2010

    Categories

    All

    Author

    My name is Robin Barnett.  I am a Teacher, Respiratory Therapist, CPR Instructor, (new) Dance Team Coach and most importantly of all I am a wife, mother, grandmother and friend.  I love teaching.  I believe that I have the best of both worlds as a professional.  I am able to teach as well as work as a Respiratory Therapist.  I love helping students better themselves and I am absolutely crazy about my family!  I attend a wonderful church at First Assembly of God in Lawrenceburg.  My oldest son Brandon is a Teacher and Coach at Culleoka and he and his Wife Danielle (RN) have recently given me a wonderful grandson named Wilson.  My daughter BreAnna works for a pulmonologist and I enjoy just hanging out with her.   My son Sam attends SHS and is the FCA President and plays Basketball for the SHS Eagles.  My son JW plays Football for Lawrence County.  And last but not least, my Husband Wade is a LCHS teacher and a Sheriff Reserve Deputy for Lawrence County.